Tags

,

It’s cloudy and rainy again this afternoon. After a weekend of sunshine and with it, a glimmer of Spring, it appears that Winter refuses to back down. But alas, I hear the birds chirping and feel a sense of optimism that a new season is here and with that, a new semester approaches. I have been horribly unproductive all semester. I blame it on being a newlywed. But that’s a bit of lie. I procrastinate. Speaking of which…

I made cookies the other night. I’m not much of a baker because I don’t have patience when it comes to measuring properly and keeping a watchful eye on the oven, which are apparently essential to being a good baker. Nonetheless, these cookies were the perfect way to balance out my need for something sweet and my impatience for proper measurements. So, I bring you:

Nutella Stovetop Cookies
(Adapted from Megan’s Cookin’)

1/4 cup butter
1/4 cup milk
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup cocoa
1 pinch of salt
1/2 tsp. vanilla
1/4 c. Nutella
1 1/2 c. rolled oats
1/2 c. shredded coconut

  1. In a saucepan over medium-high heat, combine butter, milk, sugar, cocoa and salt. Bring to a boil, stirring constantly. Reduce the heat and continue to boil for another few minutes.
  2. Remove from heat and add vanilla.
  3. Mix in Nutella.
  4. Add oats and coconut. Mix until everything is combined.
  5. Drop a heaping tablespoon of the batter onto parchment paper and allow to cool and set. You must act quickly before it begins to set in the pot. I cooled mine in the fridge because, as you now know, I’m impatient. It was ready to eat in about 15 minutes.

I halved the recipe, which yielded about a dozen cookies. I also significantly reduced the amount of sugar that the original recipe calls for. Nutella is pretty sweet as it is so I felt like all that extra sugar wasn’t needed, but that was just my personal preference. Lastly, I’ve decided that since there’s no actual ‘baking’ that’s happening here, I feel that you can be quite loose with the measurements since the oven is where all the chemistry takes place.

[Photo by me via Instagram. I don’t have a fancy SLR so this is as good as it’s going to get until I get one… some day!]

