Tags

, , ,

I never dated much before I got married. Of course, this could also be because I was 19 when my husband and I started dating. But nonetheless, I have to say, I don’t miss it much. From my very short lived experience of it, I remember feeling constantly anxious. The moments of butterflies and excitement were so fleeting that at times, it didn’t feel like it was worth it. When I hear about my single friends’ love lives, it really only confirms it. “Where do you meet these bozos?!” is what I always ask.

A girlfriend of mine went on a date recently that reminded me of the picture above. On paper, he was a great guy but throughout their date, he kept checking his phone. Perhaps there’s an urgent call or text he’s waiting for, or what if he was live Tweeting the date? In any case, it was rude and strange. Alas, the call came and how did he reply? “Hi honey, just out for dinner with a colleague. I’ll let you know when I’m done and I’ll come pick you up.” WHAT?! Were they on a date or not? So my proud friend did what any woman would do. She chugged her wine, played along like she knew it was a work dinner, paid her bill, and said good riddance.

So for women out there who actually enjoy it and thrive on the single life, you are like a unicorn: rare and legendary. Kudos.

[Drawing from Cup of Jo]

