Tags

, ,

I have a confession: Sometimes I skip breakfast. Let me explain why.

The night before, I often lay awake in bed thinking about all the things that I need to do the next day. You know, like sending off that document I promised, or responding to that email that’s been sitting in my inbox, or doing the laundry, or grocery shopping, or preparing for a meeting at the end of the week, etc. etc. You get the idea. So then when I wake up the next morning, I’ll immediately begin crossing off my to-do list for my own peace of mind. By the time the afternoon comes around, I’ve realized that all I’ve had was a big cup of tea (surprise, surprise). And so I’ll usually have breakfast food in the afternoon to make me feel less guilty that I’ve skipped the most important meal of the day.

So yesterday “morning”, I had granola with blueberries and yoghurt. The granola recipe is adapted from Ina Garten, who I absolutely adore. But unfortunately this one was a bit of a miss so here’s my version:

Homemade Granola (Makes about 6 cups)
Adapted from Ina Garten and allrecipes

2 cups of old fashioned rolled oats
1 cup of sweetened shredded coconut
1 cup of sliced almonds
1/4 cup vegetable oil
3 tbsp. of honey
2 tbsp. of brown sugar
1/2 tsp. of cinnamon
1/2 tsp. of vanilla
pinch of salt
1 cup of dried cranberries
1 cup of golden raisins
1/2 cup of roasted cashews

  1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F.
  2. Toss the oats, coconut, and almonds together. In a separate bowl, whisk together the oil, honey, brown sugar, cinnamon, vanilla, and salt. If your honey is a little hard (especially if it’s creamed honey) or if you’ve got some extra time, then I also recommend heating this mixture in a saucepan over medium heat until everything is mixed together. This seems to ensure that everything is evenly mixed. I didn’t do this once because I was lazy and it turned out fine, but heating it beforehand was better.
  3. Pour the liquid over the oats mixture and stir until everything is coated.
  4. Pour onto a large sheet pan and spread it out evenly. Bake for about 20-25 minutes, stirring occasionally until it’s evenly golden.
  5. Remove from the oven and let it cool. The mixture will seem moist but it’ll harden as it cools. Make sure to stir occasionally to prevent huge chunks from forming, but don’t overdo it because some chunks are good!
  6. Then add the cranberries, raisins, and cashews until evenly distributed and store in an airtight container once everything is fully cooled. You can use any other dry fruit and nut combination but this is just what I had on hand.

Some other possible additions:
–  Dried apricots
–  Dried mango
–  Dried figs
–  Dried dates
–  Pecans
–  Walnuts
–  Sunflower seeds
–  Pumpkin seeds
–  Wheat germ
–  Bran

I like to have my granola with yoghurt and a handful of blueberries that I buy fresh and then freeze (it’s much better than buying pre-frozen blueberries). My husband doesn’t like yoghurt so he just eats it as is. Whatever floats your boat!

