Tags

, , , , , ,

I was going to reserve my brunch post for Friday but I’ve been admittedly having this mid-week because that’s the luxury of working from home. The semester’s over and I’m knee deep in marking essays. I really enjoy teaching but loathe marking. A little part of me dies when a student confuses ‘your’ for ‘you’re’ or when I catch a student blatantly plagiarizing. I have an existential crisis every time, wondering whether or not I need to find a new job. And yet, I sign my contract and find myself teaching once again.

Sorry, that was a bit of an unexpected rant. Moving on…

Anyways, this little treat is something I first tried last week and have made a couple of times since then. It’s relatively simple and quick. A good go-to brunch menu when friends decide to pop in for a visit.

Poached Eggs on Spicy Tomato Chili Sauce (Serves 2)
Adapted from Food and the Fabulous

Eggs
4 large eggs
1 tbsp. white vinegar
2 whole wheat English muffins
salt & pepper

Sauce
1 tbsp. olive oil
1/2 small onion, finally diced
1 garlic clove, minced
1/2 tsp. red chili flakes
2 roma tomatoes, chopped (or really any tomatoes you have)
1/2 tsp. sugar
salt & pepper

  1. To poach eggs, fill a large saucepan with water about a third of the way up. Heat the water on medium heat until it bubbles and simmers. Add the vinegar. If it boils, turn the heat down even more and wait for it to simmer (otherwise, your eggs are all over the place). Spin the water gently with a slotted spoon and gently crack your egg into the middle of the swirl. Some recommend you crack your egg into a small bowl or cup first, but I don’t normally do that. You also want to make sure you’re cracking or dropping the egg close to the water rather than higher up. This helps to ensure the egg is intact and hot water doesn’t splash. Cook for about 3 minutes for a runny yolk. Remove with a slotted spoon and let some of the excess water drip off. Season with a pinch of salt on top. (I realize that the egg in my picture isn’t perfect. I like to call it rustic.)
  2. Over medium heat, cook your onions until translucent. Add garlic and chili flakes and cook until fragrant. Add your diced tomatoes, sugar, salt, and pepper. Cook for 5 minutes and then reduce the heat. Let it simmer for about 10 minutes until it thickens. Give it a taste and season accordingly.
  3. Serve on toasted English muffins with a dash of freshly ground pepper.

Suggestions
The original recipe calls to serve with chives which would be a great addition, but I didn’t have these on hand. It also calls for peeled tomatoes. However, I didn’t have the patience to do this and I thought the final product tasted pretty good with the skin. I should also note that the original author suggests that this serves 4. I don’t know about you, but 1 poached egg is not an adequate meal for me so feel free to adjust accordingly. Lastly, I think this would be really good with wilted spinach and hash browns on the side.

