Tags

, , , , , ,

What are your plans for the weekend? This weekend’s probably going to be pretty busy for me. J. and I are going to Kamloops (about a 4 hour drive from where we live) on Saturday for his rugby game. He’ll be playing and I’ll be cheering from the sidelines. On Sunday, we’re going to an event called Make It! that sells locally made goods. Think: Etsy but in event form. I’m keeping an eye out for some colourful bowls (all ours are a boring white), maybe some jewelry for the Spring, and a nicer looking iPhone case that’s not so industrial looking as my current one. After a week of marking, I’m looking forward to the break before I have to start on another round of marking.

Anyways, I wanted to share a quick recipe with you that I’ve been going back to over and over again. We had a friend over this week for dinner and the game and I made chili (the recipe wasn’t what I was hoping for, hence why I’m not sharing it) and cornbread. The cornbread from this recipe is sweet and moist, with just the right amount of a crumbly texture that makes it good for dipping.

Golden Sweet Cornbread Recipe
From allrecipes

1 cup flour
1 cup yellow cornmeal
2/3 cup white sugar
1 tsp. salt
3 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1 egg
1 cup milk
1/3 cup vegetable oil

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Spray or lightly grease a 9 inch round cake pan.
  2. In a large bowl, combine flour, cornmeal, sugar, salt and baking powder. Stir in egg, milk and vegetable oil until well combined. Pour batter into prepared pan.
  3. Bake in preheated oven for 20 to 25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the loaf comes out clean.

Suggestions:
To switch it up a bit, try adding about 1/2 cup of corn kernels (thawed if frozen) or making them as muffins. Also, this is a very sweet corn bread so feel free to adjust the amount of sugar you put in. Some other reviewers recommend using brown sugar and white sugar which could produce some interesting flavours (I’ve never tried it).

