Tags

, , , ,

Today has been a bit of an indulgent day for me. I’ve been catching up on shows that I’ve missed (has anyone else been watching Girls on HBO?) and embarking on some culinary and DIY adventures. (The DIY project will be a post later this week.)

Despite my love for food, when I’m alone, I never seem to have the same gusto for cooking as I do when I cook for me and my husband. Usually my meals are yoghurt, toasted English muffins, or leftovers. But every once in awhile, my creativity decides to come out and I embark on these culinary adventures in the middle of my day.

Today was one of those days. I also had a bunch of asparagus that have been begging to be made into something, anything. And so I did just that.

Linguine with a jubilee of greens (serves 2)
Inspired by Everybody Likes Sandwiches
I should start by saying that I didn’t really follow a recipe per se and instead, threw a little bit of this and that in with the pasta. I also originally made the recipe for 1 serving but doubled everything here, since 2 serving recipes are typically more useful than 1. The measurements below are approximations and will require you to adjust according to your taste.

1 serving of linguine (or any other pasta you have on hand)
1 tbsp. butter
1/2 tbsp. olive oil
1/2 small onion, diced finely
1-2 garlic clove, minced
1/2 tsp. red chili flakes
2 tbsp. flour
1 cup milk
3 tbsp. freshly grated parmesan
salt and pepper
2 lemon wedges
1 handful of baby spinach
1/2 cup frozen peas
1 bunch of asparagus, cut into 2″ pieces (say, about 8-10 spears?)

  1. Cook pasta in salted boiling water.
  2. Meanwhile, melt 1/2 tbsp. butter and olive oil over medium-high heat. Add onions and cook until translucent. Add minced garlic and chili flakes and cook for another few minutes. Melt the other 1/2 tbsp. of butter and whisk in the flour. Once the flour is incorporated, whisk in the milk. Once it begins to thicken, add the parmesan cheese. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  3. With about 1-2 minutes left in cooking the pasta, add the asparagus and cook until the pasta is done.
  4. Drain pasta and asparagus, and reserve some of the water.
  5. Add pasta and asparagus into the sauce and add some pasta water if it’s thickened up too much or is starting to look a bit dry.
  6. Add baby spinach and peas, and toss everything together over medium heat until spinach has wilted and the peas have heated through.
  7. Squeeze the lemon juice from 2 wedges (no exact measurement, sorry!) and toss again.
  8. Serve with some extra grated parmesan cheese and freshly ground pepper.
