Tags

, , , ,

I like baking at night. Is that weird? When I get my evening cravings, it usually goes something like this: 1) Check pantry and fridge for what ingredients I have, 2) look online or in cookbooks for recipe ideas based on said ingredients, and 3) play around with a chosen recipe or two and bake a delicious dessert at 10 at night.

I know it’s not good to eat anything after 7, let alone sweet treats. But if I have frozen bananas in the freezer and chocolate chips in the pantry, then it’s only logical that I make chocolate chip banana bread, regardless of what time it is. Right?

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread
Adapted from Shelley Albeluhn on allrecipes
This is really my go-to banana bread recipe. It’s a good basic one to have on hand where you can add your own additions and make your own adjustments. It’s moist and very dense, especially with the extra bananas I like to put in.

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. salt
1/2 cup butter
2/3 cup brown sugar
1 tsp. vanilla
2 eggs, beaten
2 1/2 – 3 cups mashed overripe bananas, I use around 5-6.
1 cup chocolate chips, cold

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a 9×5 inch loaf pan.

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.

In a large bowl or in your mixer, cream together butter, brown sugar, and vanilla. Once everything is incorporated, add in beaten eggs and mashed bananas.

Fold in the dry ingredients and the chocolate chips into the wet mixture. Don’t stir it too much, just enough for everything to be incorporated. Then pour it into the prepared loaf pan. Tap the pan a couple of times on the counter to get rid of any air pockets. Bake for about 60 minutes, or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean. Let it cool in the pan for 10 minutes. Then cool on a wire rack.

Notes:
When I make this without chocolate chips, I add the original amount of 3/4 cup of brown sugar. I find that having the full amount of sugar with the bananas and chocolate can be too sweet. I also like to bake with cold chocolate chips so that it doesn’t melt or soften while I’m mixing my ingredients. Otherwise the mixture can look chocolately rather than being dotted with chocolate. What I usually do is pop it in the freezer when I start baking and by the time I get to it, it’s nice and cold. This isn’t a necessary step, just something I like to do.

