Tags

, , ,

This will seem narcissistic, but can I share a little something about myself?

I have social anxiety issues. I’m perfectly outgoing and approachable around people I know and I’m comfortable with (the latter is particularly important). But the knowledge that the majority of people I’m in a room with are people I don’t know makes me anxious. It’s irrational and a little crazy, I know. And so I will often make obligated and uncomfortable chit chat and then bolt when the opportunity arises. Or, I will avoid the social scenario all together.

Many people are surprised by this because I apparently feign an outgoing and bubbly personality better than I thought. I probably fooled many of you into thinking this as well, unless you’ve all noticed how private and weird I am about sharing personal details. But why start a blog–a very public space for sharing one’s life–if I’m a private and socially anxious person? I don’t know. It’s weird, isn’t it? Perhaps the anonymity is what brings me comfort. Or perhaps a part of me genuinely wants to be more open and a blog is one way for me to do this. Either way, I am very grateful to the people who follow this blog and those who just like to stop by every once in awhile for a visit. Your support means a lot. Really.

In return, I offer you light and buttery popovers. Carbs. Butter. Simplicity. Three things that should always be in a kitchen.



Popovers
There are a few things that I think make for an airy and spongy popover: preheating the muffin pan, preheating the butter, and leaving the oven door closed the entire time. I served this with some butter (yeah, more butter) and strawberry jam.

2 eggs, beaten
1 cup milk
1 tbsp. butter, melted + 2 tbsp. cold butter
1 cup flour
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. sugar

Preheat to 375 degrees F. Grease 10-12 cups from a 12-cup muffin pan and heat in the oven. I’m giving a range because this recipe seems to yield different amounts depending on your muffin pan. Mine makes 11 perfectly. My friend makes 10. Perhaps the best would be to prepare for 12 just in case.

Meanwhile, whisk together eggs, milk, and melted butter. Then add in flour, salt, and sugar. Whisk until everything is incorporated.

Cut the 2 tbsp. of cold butter into 10-12 pieces and place each piece in a muffin cup. Put it back in the oven to heat and sizzle, but make sure it doesn’t start to burn. (A couple of minutes should be enough since the pan is already hot.) The melted butter should cover the bottom of each cup. Finally, pour the batter halfway in each cup.

Bake for about 25-30 minutes on the second lowest rack, but start checking at 22 minutes in case your oven is hotter than mine. Never open your oven while it’s baking! The popovers should be golden brown and puffed up on top.

**Apologies for the poor images. Full disclosure: We were hungry and in a rush to eat!

