Tags

, , , ,

You’ll have to excuse me today, but I’m feeling a bit off. The other day I rolled over my glasses and now one of the sides is bent and askew so I’m wearing my old ones that just don’t feel right. I also woke up this morning with a swollen eye for some reason. Allergies maybe? Anyways, I’m a mess.

Moving on.

Let’s get to know each other a little bit better, shall we? What are you good at? What do you wish you were good at? Sometimes I tend to focus on things that I suck at because it’s easier to complain rather than being proud of what I’m good at or acknowledging opportunities to grow. I’m a fan of lists so let me tell you a little bit about myself.

Things I wish I was good at:

  1. I wish I was better at organizing my home. My pantry is a mess. I only just recently started putting baking items on a separate shelf from my spices. I also have forms and papers from yesteryear sitting in a pile on the corner of my desk. I also have various articles in one pile rather than separated by category. My desk is really a catch-all rather than a productive workspace.
  2. I wish I was more creative. My attempts are often ambitious but rarely successful, partly due to the fact that I easily abandon projects. I pin DIY projects all the time but they never happen or only partly do until I get bored. I just admire them instead. I like to paint but nothing worth sharing. I have friends that are typographic and design wizards, others that can capture beautiful photographs, and some that have an exceptional eye for fashion. It’s my inability to be creative that makes me really appreciate those that are.
  3. I wish I was better at playing video games. I know, wasn’t expecting this one, were you? In case you haven’t visited my About Me page, I research video games and am currently conducting virtual ethnography where I watch participants play video games online. My lack of skills makes it challenging for me to fully participate and understand their experiences, so instead I find myself sitting like a bump on a log just observing. I had to add this because my work is currently looming over me as I type this.

Things I’m good at:

  1. I’m good at parallel parking. I’m really good at it. There’s a road near school that has free street parking close to the skytrain station. So one time, I was late for class and I was maniacally driving down this road in search of the last parking spot available. Lo and behold, I found a small spot but there was a huge bus barreling behind me. So I quickly pulled my car forward, put it in reverse, and slid right in, all without a single adjustment and before the bus even made it close.
  2. I’m good at making meals with little ingredients. I don’t have a regular schedule for when I go grocery shopping. I go when I need to I go about 2 or 3 days after we run out of everything. During that time, I’m left having to make meals with absolutely nothing but yet, I make it work. My husband always tells me how surprised he is that I can just whip something up. Like yesterday, we had a small bag of pasta we bought from a trip to Pike Place (Seattle), carrots, half an onion, garlic, a can of plum tomatoes, and a lot of sliced provolone cheese that my parents gave us after a trip to Costco. So I made baked pasta in a quick tomato sauce. Pretty good, eh?
  3. I’m good at guessing dog breeds. When I was a little, I managed to get myself a poster from Pedigree that had pictures and names of about 50 breeds of dogs. I was obsessed. I would sit there for hours, memorizing the breeds and noting the distinctive features of each one. Now I can pretty much tell what breed(s) a dog is based on a quick glance.

Now a post wouldn’t be complete without a recipe, would it? Today’s recipe is not for those who are trying to watch their figure. In fact, you should definitely stay away if you’re trying to get ready for swimsuit season. It’s a creamy spinach dip that’s seriously sinfully rich. So good.

Spinach Dip

1 package of frozen spinach
1 c. mayonnaise
1 c. sour cream
1 package of dry onion or vegetable soup mix
1 loaf of sourdough bread

Thaw the frozen spinach and squeeze out as much of the excess water as possible. Mix with the mayo, sour cream, and soup mix. Refrigerate for at least 1 hour prior to serving. Serve with sourdough bread cut into bite-size pieces (or you can go fancy and make yourself a bread bowl). That’s it!

