Tags

, , , ,

I’ve never been a huge chocolate person. Blasphemy, I know. In fact, I don’t remember the last time I managed to finish an entire chocolate bar in one sitting. I’m much more of a salty junk food kind of girl. But every now and again, I’ll crave a little something sweet. Straight up chocolate is a bit intense for me, which is why I love chocolate chip cookies. It has the right amount of chocolate and sweet to temper any cravings I have.

With that being said, I’ve never found a recipe that I truly liked. The cookies would turn out too crunchy or too sweet. But I think I’ve finally found one that’s worth making again and again. All this time, it turns out, I was missing a very special ingredient that produces cookies that are moist, soft, and chewy: cornstarch. I promise you, this will revolutionize your cookie making.


Anna Olson’s Chocolate Chip Cookies
From Anna Olson, Food Network Canada
I typically try to adapt a recipe to my own liking but with this recipe, I figure: Why mess with a good thing? If you do come up with your own adaptations, I would love to know what you did!

3/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 egg
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 cups all purpose flour
2 teaspoons cornstarch
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
8 ounces bittersweet chocolate, cut into chunks

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F.
  2. Cream together butter and sugars until smooth. Add egg and vanilla and blend in.
  3. Stir in flour, cornstarch, baking soda and salt. Stir in chocolate chunks.
  4. Drop by tablespoons onto a greased baking sheet and bake for 8-10 minutes, until golden brown around the edges.
  5. Let cool slightly and enjoy.

Note:
I used semisweet chocolate chips because that’s what I had in my pantry. Personally, I prefer bittersweet because the bitter aftertaste balances out the sweetness of the cookie dough. I also like the idea of chocolate chunks. It’s more rustic. And call me crazy, but I think it gives cookies more character.

Hope you have a good weekend! xo


