Tags

, , , , , ,

I have never been of the athletic variety. Team sports never interested me and in my opinion, the gym is one of the worst places to be. My father, on the other hand, has always been an avid athlete. He was in the army (as required by Korean law) in his 20’s, where he jumped out of airplanes, played rugby in gravel, and swam great distances with a heavy backpack on. He even played on the church baseball team when he was in his 40’s while the rest of the team comprised of young adults. He also traveled around the world, working on ships as a marine engineer. And in his youth, I hear he was quite the scrappy fighter.

In some ways, I’ve inherited some of his personality and because of that, we would often butt heads when I was younger. But over time, as my teenage angst subsided and my father softened in his old age, we’ve become friends who trust in each others’ opinions and confide in one another when we need someone to talk to.

So for the next 3 weeks, I’m going to do a Father’s Day series where I share recipes that would work well for Father’s Day. They’re recipes that my father enjoys or twists on old classics. And in all honesty, I don’t have much of an option because on Mother’s Day, all my father kept doing was ask when Father’s Day was, so I kind of have to do this.

First up, brunch.


Breakfast Skillet (serves 4)
The meat is entirely optional, which means this can easily be made as a vegetarian dish. I used spicy Italian sausage which gave the skillet some bite. If you decide to forgo the meat, I recommend adding a dash of cayenne pepper for the extra spice. Some skillet recipes call for cheese but I find that this is already pretty heavy as it is because of the sausage. But for the vegetarian version, cheese would be a nice addition. Also, this would be a good hangover meal as my husband helpfully suggests.

2 spicy Italian or chorizo sausages, removed from casings
1 tbsp. olive oil
1 onion, finely chopped
2 Yukon Gold potatoes, parboiled and cubed
1 red bell pepper, chopped
1 yellow (or green) bell pepper, chopped
1 large handful of spinach
4 eggs
Salt & pepper, to taste

Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Remove the sausage meat from its casing and add to the skillet. Use a wooden spoon to crumble the meat into smaller pieces. Cook until brown for about 5 minutes. Transfer to a paper towel-lined plate but keep about 1 tbsp. of the drippings in the skillet.

In the same skillet, heat the olive oil and the drippings over medium-high heat. Add onions and potatoes and cook until the onions soften and the potatoes begin to brown; about 4-5 minutes. Season lightly with salt and pepper. Then add the bell peppers and sausage meat and cook, stirring occasionally, until they soften; about 4-5 minutes. Add the spinach and cover to let it wilt for about 1 minute and then stir. Next, make 4 small pockets in the mixture and then crack an egg in each and season with salt and pepper. Lower the temperature to medium-low and cover until the eggs are set and cooked to your preference. This usually takes another 4-5 minutes. Serve either in the skillet or on individual plates.

