Tags

, , ,

Today I share something that’s really easy and doesn’t really deserve much of a traditional explanation in the way of a recipe (but I will!). You throw some vegetables onto a big plate. Drizzle some olive oil and fresh lemon juice on top with a good sprinkle of salt and pepper. Top it off with a fried egg, sunny side up, so the yolk runs through the entire salad like a rich and buttery dressing.

This is what I’ve been eating for the last few days. Literally. Everyday for lunch. I’ve been so mentally consumed by this thesis that I can’t bring myself to think of anything else to make. It’s quick and healthy. It fills me up and awakens the palette before I go back to drinking coffee and working.

I guess, as is the tradition, I’ll type out proper instructions below just in case you feel you need it. But you can’t mess this up, unless you don’t know how to fry an egg. But even then, how bad could it be?

Mixed Green Salad with Fried Egg
Adapted from Real Girl’s Kitchen

A large handful of mixed greens
A large handful of baby spinach
Half a red bell pepper, chopped
A handful of brussel sprouts, halved
1 egg
1 lemon wedge
Olive oil, enough to drizzle over salad
Salt and pepper, to taste

In a large saucepan, over medium-high heat, saute the brussel sprouts in some olive oil for about 5 minutes. Season with salt and pepper. Set aside.

In the same saucepan, over medium-high heat, heat about 1 tbsp. of oil. Then crack an egg and let it set to your liking. Season with salt and pepper. Set aside.

Mix all the vegetables, including the brussel sprouts, on a large plate. Drizzle with olive oil and lemon juice. Add the fried egg on top. Add salt and pepper, if needed.

Notes:
You can easily substitute the vegetables with anything you have in your kitchen: tomatoes, other colours of bell peppers, red onion, kale, and cucumbers are some possible options. But I find that having at least one substantial vegetable (like sauteed brussel sprouts) really grounds the salad and provides some substance. I don’t know about you, but I can’t survive by just eating leaves. Lastly, I also highly recommend that you keep your yoke runny. That’s what really gives the salad depth.

