An excerpt from my journal the night before the wedding:

There’s something to be said about tradition. I’ve never fantasized about the perfect wedding day until tonight. I worry that something will go wrong tomorrow, even though I know it won’t really matter. But I want everything to be perfect. Tradition is a funny thing. Despite hesitation and reluctance, we often cater to tradition perhaps as a way to carry on some kind of legacy or to reaffirm the importance of consistency within a world of incongruity. In any case, never have I felt the value of tradition until tonight. I get it. Even though months of planning often ended with “So why didn’t we elope?”, I think the suspenseful lead up to tomorrow is what augments the magnitude of getting married; of embarking on a journey with someone for the rest of my life.

I can’t sleep. I’m too excited!

This weekend is our 6-month wedding anniversary (woo hoo!). It’s been far better than I could have ever imagined. I’ve never been so happy and challenged in my life. So in honour of this anniversary, we’re going to celebrate it all weekend long. On Saturday, we’re going to watch Taming of the Shrew at Bard on the Beach (a local Shakespeare festival). On Sunday, we’re going for brunch at Cafe Medina and then if weather permits, renting scooters and riding around town.

