Tags

, , ,

In 1 week, we’re hitting the road, heading east for J.’s hometown of Regina, SK. I love everything that has to do with road trips. We always wake up before the sun rises, pack our car, and make it onto the highway before anyone else. The roads are so quiet and still, such a departure (ha, pun intended!) from the traffic of Vancouver that I’m use to. We usually like to prepare playlists, as well as a few recorded stand-up comedy shows to help pass the time (Dane Cook is a favourite). Unfortunately for J., I also like to belt out pop songs from the 90’s every once in awhile too. Think: Backstreet Boys, N Sync, Spice Girls, and S Club 7. Sometimes, I make him join and he’ll begrudgingly oblige. If that’s not love, I don’t know what is.

But more than anything, there are two particular reasons why I love going on road trips. First, I love just hanging out with J. without having to worry about checking emails or doing chores. We’ll sit there and just talk. Sometimes about silly things like, “what would you do if there was a zombie apocalypse right now?” to more serious topics like where we see ourselves in 10 years or reminiscing about how we met. And then there are those times when we don’t speak at all and those moments of silence are great too. Second, I love having the opportunity to see other parts of Canada that I don’t normally get to. Living in the city, it’s easy to forget that I’m surrounded by large, magnificent mountains and once we hit the prairies, I love seeing the vast, vibrant fields that go on for days (quite literally when we’re in Saskatchewan).

Like a kid going to Disneyland, I’m already thinking about what to pack and prepare for the trip. Part of that is figuring out what we’ll eat. Junk food and fast food is typically a tradition with road trips, which are fine but in moderation. Sweet Tarts are J.’s weakness while mine are Tim Horton’s Ice Caps. So I want to make a few healthier and lighter snacks that will hopefully prevent us from eating too many heavy foods. Below is a list of a few things I’ve seen around the web that I plan to make for the trip. Note that none of these images or recipes are mine but are the works of other awesome folks that I’ve linked to.

Hummus with Za'atar
Hummus to dip with veggies and pitas
from Monica Shaw of Smarter Fitter

Pumpkin chocolate chip cookies
from Spork or Foon


Sophisticated sandwiches
from wit + delight

a peck of peaches
Fresh peaches from a roadside stand
While I won’t be making these, I will take advantage of the fruit farms we visit!
from caroline la rousse


Naturally flavoured water with citrus, cucumbers, and herbs
from Martha Stewart

