Tags

, ,

The last couple of weeks have been good, real good. Nothing necessarily eventful happened but I just felt generally good about everything.

I’m in the editing stages of my thesis and as I’ve watched it come together, I can’t help but feel a sense of accomplishment of what my brain is capable of. It’s nowhere near complete, but it’s close enough that I can see the finish line.

It’s also my birthday weekend coming up and more than anything, I’m just really excited about all the various meals I’m going to have. No joke. Tonight, we’re going out for dinner with my in-laws who are in town for the Paul McCartney concert. Saturday night, J. is taking me to Vij’s for some amazing Indian food. Sunday morning, I’m having brunch with two of my more cherished girlfriends. And Sunday night, we’re going out for dinner with my parents. My actual birthday is on Monday so no doubt, I will find a way to squeeze in another delicious meal out on the town that day that doesn’t require any cooking on my part.

Lastly, we’re going to Cuba in December for some R&R to celebrate our 1 year anniversary and to celebrate the completion of my thesis. Bliss!

And now, with absolutely no relevant segue, a recipe for eggnog pound cake…

Eggnog Pound Cake
Inspired by Ina Garten’s Lemon Yogurt Cake

This pound cake isn’t too sweet because I held off on the sugar. Eggnog is quite sweet as it is but put in as much as you desire. I recommend about 1/2 cup. Light eggnog is also a personal preference. But I bet using regular eggnog makes for a much richer cake. Light eggnog or not, this pound cake is still very moist!

1 1/2 c. all-purpose flour
2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. ground nutmeg
1 c. eggnog
1/2 – 1 c. sugar (depending on preference)
2 eggs
1/2 tsp. vanilla
1/2 c. vegetable oil

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease and flour, and/or line with parchment paper, a regular size loaf pan.

Sift together the flour, baking powder, salt, and nutmeg into a bowl. In another larger bowl, whisk together the eggnog, sugar, eggs, and vanilla. Then fold in the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients with a spatula until incorporated. Then fold in the vegetable oil until everything is mixed. Pour the batter into the loaf pan and tap a couple of times on the counter to pop any air pockets and to also smooth out the top. Bake for about 55-60 minutes, or until a cake tester comes out clean. Allow it to cool completely (if possible!) before slicing.


Image via Instagram (@ms_jennyL)